Archive for January, 2012

Meet Paige

Friday, January 20th, 2012

My name is Paige! I am a 23-year-old student studying business entrepreneurship! My dream is to be able to run leadership programs for young children/pre-teens. I am the oldest of 5 kids and have always been the “babysitter” for my family and neighborhood! I have worked with kids over the past 10 years, teaching art, camps, and babysitting! I was a live-in nanny for several years and have worked with many disabled children. I love helping kids feel comfortable and have fun! I am CPR/First Aid Certified. I have worked with many families who have asked me to go on vacations or fly to where they live just to stay with their children while they are out of town. Trust is key! And I can assure each parent that their children will be in good hands.


Meet Leah

Thursday, January 19th, 2012

Aloha y’all!  My name is Leah and I am a 23 yr old from Wyoming living here in Hawaii with my husband Darren. I just got my associates in music and arts but I am a professional cook by trade.  I come from a big family of 10 children!  I have 7 brothers and 2 sisters.  Needless to say I have been around children and infants my entire life.  I have close family that are special Needs and I have experience with Cerebral Palsy and Autism.  Childcare to me is important because I believe families are central to happiness and I treat each child as if I am their older sister.

I think that being responsible and caring to the families I serve is important as well as gaining the trust of  the kids and being a good influence in action and speech.  I am very good at handling chaos and stressful situations and being a kid at heart as I ensure the kids that they have a friend in their nanny.

I have experience with dietary concerns such as gluten intolerance, lactose intolerance and vegetarianism.  I have experience with newborns, infants, special needs and kids who need alot of energy and attention.  I am fluent in Tagalog and intermediate in ASL.

I hope that the parents can be at ease while they have someone else caring over their children and know that they are in good hands.  I hope to meet your wonderful family soon!


Meet Melissa

Wednesday, January 18th, 2012

Hi my name is Melissa, I am 24 and recently moved to the North Shore of Oahu, from San Diego. I have been working with kids since I was 12, and in 2006 joined a child care agency based out of San Diego called Munchkin Minders. I was with the agency for over 5 years and met and developed great relationships with many families. I have worked with infants as young as 6 weeks up to 12 years of age and everything in between. I love working with kids and am constantly thinking of new creative ideas to keep them entertained, having fun, and most importantly well cared for. I live a pretty active lifestyle; I grew up surfing and being outdoors, and try to incorporate that with each new family I meet. It’s been so amazing to watch families grow, and being their nanny along the way has been a very rewarding experience. I really try and get to know each child on an individual level and accommodate any special needs they may have. Each child is different with different personalities and wants, and I think it’s very important to always recognize that.

I have experience doing in home childcare, as well as working big conventions in hotels, caring for multiple children at once. I have definitely acquired a lot of patience and responsibility ethic from working with kids, and hope to one day become an elementary school teacher. I am CPR/First aid certified with the American Red Cross. I look forward to meeting with you and your munchkins! Aloha! :o)


Meet Taylor

Friday, January 13th, 2012

Aloha! My name is Taylor and I have been with Nannies Hawaii for 2 years. I grew up in MN where I started babysitting in 9th grade and have ever since worked with children. I love working with kids and watching them learn and grow. I have a B.S. in Child Development and Family Relations from MN State University. I have been a nanny, household manager, substitute teacher, and an aunt to my amazing 2 nephews and 1 niece for over 9 years!

I love working with kids and giving parents a break and making their lives easier. It has been amazing watching children I have watched grow up and feel like I have had an impact in their lives. I have also made some wonderful friends and lasting relationships from my jobs.

I love being outdoors, especially near the beach, being active, and spending time with friends and family. I am outgoing, confident, responsible, and trustworthy. I have met many wonderful families being a nanny here on the island and look forward to meeting yours.


Meet Blair

Sunday, January 8th, 2012

Aloha, my name is Blair. I am 26 years old. I am originally from Sonoma, California. I am the oldest of five kids, 4 girls and one boy. I have a passion for working with kids and love how every day is full of learning and new experiences. I have babysat for a number of families since eighth grade along with assisting with my siblings when I could. I have watched kids ranging in ages from infants to teenagers as well as kids with a variety of needs from food allergies to developmental and learning disabilities.

I moved to Hawaii in September 2011 when my fiancé took a job coaching for the University of Hawaii‘s Rainbow Wahine soccer team. Prior to moving to Oahu, I taught overseas in Namibia, a small country in Africa, teaching science and basic computer skills with World Teach for a summer. I also worked with AmeriCorps for two years at a school in Santa Rosa, California as a one on one tutor. I received my BA in Liberal Studies with an emphasis in Elementary Education in May 2009 and my California multiple subject teaching credential from Sonoma State University in May 2010. After I received my teaching credential, I started working at Hanna Boys Center, a residential treatment facility for underprivileged, troubled, and seriously at-risk boys ages 13-18.

I love working and having fun with kids of all ages, whether it is playing board games, reading books, arts, crafts, or just being outside, I am up for it! I look forward to meeting you and your family.


Meet Ashley!

Friday, January 6th, 2012

Aloha. My name is Ashley. I am Hawaiian/Japanese and grew up in Utah. My parents are from O`ahu, Hawai`i and I am returning “home” attending school at BYU-Hawaii. I am majoring in Social Work and graduate in April 2012.

I’ve worked with children all my life and enjoy every second with them. Most recently, I have worked with an agency that specializes in care for children with mental disabilities. I had the opportunity to work with individuals who suffer from Down syndrome, Muscular dystrophy, and mild and severe Autism. I’ve leaned how to cope under intense situations, how to engage each child differently, and how to interact best with each child in order to help them make developmental improvements. I have worked with each of these children in creating and working towards meaningful goals that lead to an improved quality of life.

In addition, I worked at the Alpine District Summer Soccer Program. I got to work with children ranging from ages 3-15 years old. For this specific job I needed to be interesting and motivating or I would lose the kids’ attention fast. I’ve learned if you are having fun, then the kids, without a doubt, have fun.

I look forward to meeting you and your wonderful family while you enjoy and become part of the beautiful `Ohana here in Hawai`i.